Department of Chemistry



Undergraduate majors recognized at annual awards ceremony

April 14, 2023 - 9:42am

The Department of Chemistry recently held its 2023 Undergraduate Awards and Recognition Ceremony. This annual event is intended to mark the accomplishments of undergraduate majors from across the department, including many who will graduate from Pitt later this month. The slate of awards recognizes outstanding achievements in academics, research, as well as service shown by students during pursuit of their undergraduate degree.  Students receiving awards were honored at a recent luncheon held on campus.  A full list of awards and their recipients can be found below.  Congratulations to all the honorees!

The McKeever Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship:

George W. Fritze, Ryan T. Racioppo

The Organic Division Undergraduate Research Fellowship:

Allison M. Redhair

The Peter E. Siska Summer Research Fellowship:

Tyler M. Gordon

The David Pratt Undergraduate Research Fellowship:

Kevin O’Neil

The Wass Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship:

Rhea C. Abraham, Gabriella E. Belsito, Dominic J. Brazzle, Allen J. Farabaugh, Alexa A. Gauss, Andrew J. Gulewicz, Dhruthi Gundurao, Rebecca C. Hotton, Megan Kumar, Madison E. Martin, Elizabeth Mazzella, Allison McCombs, Jayme Menachof, Logan P. Moore, Montez W. Newsome, Precious Nwankwo, Piper E. Read, Dennis N. Skiba, Yuting Song, Corrinne E. Stahl, Joseph F. Tomasello, Don N. Truong, Chaoguo Wang, Anna L. Welser and Christopher Z. Zhao.

The Esther and Tobias Dunkelberger Memorial Scholarship:

Victoria C. Zerbach

The Lubrizol Scholarship:

Nicolette Carvelli, Allen J. Farabaugh

The Rita R. and David A. Rossi, Sr. Scholarship:

Grace M. Fleury, George W. Fritze, Dhruthi Gundurao, Samuel B. Zlotnikov

The Teplitz Memorial Scholarship:

Judey T. DaRos, Ryan T. Racioppo

The Richard F. Zarilla Award:

Jonathan Cho, Nishka A. Edlabadkar, Shane Osborne, Victor H. Wu

The ACS National Undergraduate Inorganic Chemistry Award:

Charis A. White

The ACS National Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Award:

Caroline H. Angerer

The ACS National Undergraduate Physical Chemistry Award:

Nicolas R. Latiolais

The American Institute of Chemists Award:

Cole G. Eberling

The SACP College Award:

Jacob A. Costantino

The Silverman Prize:

Shahd L. Habeb

The Mary Louise Theodore Prize:

Franco R. Catalano, Efthimios A. Deligiannidis, Paul E. Ghantous, Shahd L. Habeb, Maya Patterson, Vincent A. Villani

The Phillips Medal:

Alex C. Crane, Matthew R. Liberatore