Department of Chemistry



Alumni Award Celebration

We are delighted to honor eight chemistry alumni by bestowing upon each of them a Department of Chemistry Distinguished Alumni Award.  Their accomplishments and contributions are a testament to their talents and to the education and training they received at the University of Pittsburgh. Due to COVID-19-related restrictions on meetings and travel in 2020, this year we will applaud the achievements, leadership, and creativity of both the 2020 and 2022 awardees. The 2020 awardees are Jingguang Chen (PhD 1988), McMahan L. Gray (BS 1980), Jamie McCabe Dunn (PhD 2007), and Jeremy Walker (PhD 2006). The 2022 awardees are Maria J. Doa (PhD 1985), Diana (Berg) Gerbi (BS 1975), Arun Ghosh (PhD 1985), and Monde Qhobosheane (BS 1997).

The biennial Alumni Award Celebration is a cherished event that provides opportunities for our awardees to interact with the Department faculty, students, and staff. Through two days of roundtable discussions, Department tours, and informal meetings the awardees inspire graduate and undergraduate students by their accomplishments in many spheres. They are presented with the awards at a dinner with faculty and staff.

For current and past recipient profiles, please visit our archive list.