Department of Chemistry



Dr. Ericka Huston led team wins College and University Health and Safety Award from ACS

March 6, 2019 - 9:48am

The Department of Chemistry and the Department of Environmental Health and Safety have jointly received the 2019 College and University Health and Safety Award from ACS. The award recognizes Pitt's "outstanding comprehensive laboratory safety program in higher education (undergraduate study)".  The foundational basis for the award was the creation of the Safety in the Chemistry Laboratory course (Chem 1010) that was originally spearheaded by Ericka Huston, Kieth Duval ((EH&S Environmental Manager), George Bandik, and Peter Wipf.   Key participants in the evolution of this all-volunteer effort include Mark DiNardo (EH&S), Josh Jones, Jackie Powell, John Milligan, Ashley Smith, Peter Bell, Tamika Madison, and numerous other faculty, graduate students, undergraduates, and industrial partners. Course development was supported by the University of Pittsburgh Discipline Based Science Education Research Center (dBSERC).