Department of Chemistry



2020 Mellon Awardees

February 25, 2020 - 4:32pm

The Department of Chemistry is pleased to announce this year's Andrew W. Mellon Predoctoral Fellowship Awardees: Sydney Brooks (Rosi) and Nikhil Tasker (Wipf).

 Andrew W. Mellon Predoctoral Fellowships (henceforth: Mellon Fellowships) are to be “awarded to students of exceptional ability and promise” who are pursuing a PhD. in the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences. The primary consideration in ranking nominees is therefore the nominee’s promise of achieving scholarly distinction in their field. In recent years there have been circa 100 to 120 nominations for approximately 50 Mellon Fellowships.

 This Fellowship offers financial support for highly qualified students and provides a two –semester stipend and a scholarship for full tuition and fees for the period of the appointment. Awards are made on an annual basis; completed application and department recommendations are required; competitive selection is made by a University committee. The fellowship is supplemented by a teaching or research assistantship for the third term.

 Congratulations Sydney and Nikhil!